body lovin’

 

“Once you accept the fact that you’re not perfect, then you will develop some confidence”Rosalynn Carter 

I really, truly think that learning to love yourself is one of the hardest tasks you can face. For as long as I can remember, I’ve had self image problems. My weight has gone up and down like a damn rollercoaster.. When I’m in a healthy routine, I’m on top of the fucking world. But the second I started noticing my face puffing up, everything is an absolute disaster. My depression gets worse, and my personal life starts getting a little out of whack. There are days when I wake up, look at myself in the mirror and pick myself apart bit by bit. I used to go weeks just eating one small meal a day, because I thought that was all that I deserved to eat. It’s absolutely insane how much my weight affected the opinion I had of myself. But I’ve started to realize that no one is the same. I realized that my body, even if I was in the best shape of my life wouldn’t necessarily look the way I want it to… the way the world expects it to. I’ve recently been more exposed to a lot of body positive activists and I can’t explain what a difference it has made for me. As one of my best friends told me, “comparison is the thief of joy” (headalongwithheart.com, go check her travel blog out!! it’s THE BOMB). I’m not sure if she came up with that on her own, but I’ve never heard a truer statement. With all of the access we have on social media, it’s insanely easy to compare yourself to anyone in the world. Putting yourself down is a click away. And it’s up to you to flip the switch, it’s up to you to love yourself. If you feel better working out, then find your favorite thing to do and do it. If you feel better eating, get on with ya bad self. If you notice things about your body or yourself that you’re not particularly fond of, then make an effort to change it. But if you do nothing else in life, be sure you learn to love yourself with all of the dimples, scars, and jiggle you got going on.

So much love to all of you!

Leave a Reply

